FAQ – bride/groom figures

I received this message from Jesse at Joecustoms

Hi Matthew!

I’ve been scouring customs sites for ideas on this very thing…I’d like to build custom me and hers for the cake, and I’m looking for advice on building.

I was hoping you could give me some advice on how long it took to do the tux detailing, and the dress sculpting, as well as any other details you might be able to offer.  How well did they go over with the crowd?  Is there anything you would do differently with this project?

Thanks,
Jesse

Here are the figures that Jesse is asking about

Matt and Leslie

The Groom figure wasn’t too terribly hard. Getting the right parts is essential. The torso was actually one of the easier parts. I actually did something similar here
http://loserville.us/~matthew/007.htm

If you aren’t familiar with the parts I’ve listed, check out this site. Should help you identify what you need.
http://yojoe.com/action
or here http://thegijoeindex.com/

Also, here is what the torso looked like before
http://thegijoeindex.com/joeindex/usfigures/91/grunt3/

I removed the pockets from the jacket, and sculpted on the tux details. The lapels worked great from the get go.

Anyway, the bride figure was harder. Finding good female parts is the tricky part. Star Wars is a good route to go, but the compatibility with GI Joes is hit or miss. I was lucky enough to find some Lanard figures called WOW Girls (same company that makes CORPS! figures). I worked from there. The dress portion came off a Princess Leia and I just had to make it fit the figure. So I guess the hardest part was getting the right parts.

If I could do it again I’d attempt to make the dress out of fabric. Biggest reason is that we drove off in a 1987 Corvette and I would love to take the old A-Team Corvette and make it work with the figures, but the bride figure won’t fit as is.

Explore posts in the same categories: FAQs

2 Comments on “FAQ – bride/groom figures”

  1. katie Says:

    My husband and I do art with GI Joes as business on the side. Just a hobby. SO naturally, GI Joes has become our thing. All of our friends and family always look forward to what we are going to do next. We are getting married, and I’d really like a “me” GI Joe and a “tim” (my fiance) GI Joe. Do you know if there is anyone I could pay to make this happen for me? I’d love to take on the project myself, but the wedding is in July, and I’m having to juggle wedding planning, family issues, work, and school. Please let me know.
    Thank you so much,
    Katie

  2. themayor36 Says:

    Thanks Katie for the reply. At one point in time I would have loved to help out on this, but I barely have time anymore for my own hobby.

    That being said, the groom figure is typically easier to do, since there are so many more male parts to work from. Really the kicker is the female figure here.

    There are a lot of customizing sites online, but the one I’d recommend is joecustoms.com

    I spend a lot of time there and can vouch for the members. Feel free to ask any questions at all.


Leave a comment